Jim Opiki of Independent Monitor emerges Rivers SWAN chairman


Jim Opiki has been around in the media in Rivers State especially in sports. This time, he threw the cap into the ring for position of state chairman of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN).


The long awaited election of the SWAN Rivers State Chapter has been won by Amb Jim Udede-Opiki of the Independent Monitor Newspaper who beat his opponent, Mr Peter Abaje of the African Independent Television (AIT), to emerge winner.

Udede-Opiki polled 20 votes as against Abaje’s 12 votes to be announced chairman by the Returning Officer and the Vice President of SWAN,South South,Zone Bonny Nyong.

Inaugurating the newly elected Excutive at the Ernest Ikoli Press Centre in Port Harcourt,the South-South Vice President  of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), Bonny Nyong,  charged the newly elected executive of SWAN, Rivers State Chapter to be committed, upgrade  and carry every member along in the course of their duties.

He further tasked the newly elected chairman, Udede-Opiki, to allow every officer function in his position and refrain from usurping other officers’ duties.

“Mr Chairman, today you have been elected as the Chairman, but remember, other officers too are elected, allow the officers to function in their various positions.

Bring every member together, to enable SWAN Rivers wax stronger and vibrant,” Nyong said.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected chairman,  Udede-Opiki, thanked all members for the confidence reposed in him, and pledged to run an all inclusive administration.

He thanked members for their support, stressing that without members he cannot function as chairman.

“I use this opportunity to thank all the members and promise to bring all members together to move SWAN Rivers forward.

We will work as a team. I know  I cannot work alone. There are no losers in this election, everybody is a winner,” Opiki said.

Other officers elected are Sarah David as Vice Chairman, Chukwudi Ejimofor, Secretary, Solomon Wokoma, Treasurer and Barth Ndubuwah emerged as Financial Secretary.##