10 petitions files against National Assembly elections in Enugu


By Regis Amauche, Enugu

About 10 candidates that suffered defeat in the last National Assembly election in Enugu state have filed petitions at the National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Enugu,

Our investigation revealed that the petitions were as a result of the Feb. 23 National Assembly Elections challenging three senatorial results and seven House of Representatives results in the state.

However, out of the 10 petitions, nine were filed by candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) while one was filed by a candidate of African Peoples Alliance (APA).

Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu in her petition is challenging the return of Sen. Ike Ekweremadu as the winner of Enugu West Senatorial Zone while Eugene Odo is challenging Sen. Chuka Utazi for Enugu North Senatorial Zone.

Lawrence Eze filed a petition challenging the declaration of former governor of the state, Chimaroke Nnamani as winner of Enugu East Senatorial Zone.

The Federal House of Representatives seats being challenged are Enugu North and South, Ezeagu/Udi, Nsukka/ Igboeze South, Aninri/Awgu/Oji River and Nkanu East/Nkanu West. The rest are Igbo-Etiti/Uzo Uwani.