Delta to sustain achievements in eradication of polio virus


By Kasarachi Azuka, Asaba

Delta State Government has pledged it’s readiness to sustain the achievements recorded in the eradication of poliomyelitis virus by providing the needed support to the vaccination teams and health workers, engaging the right manpower, offering technical assistance and providing the required funding.

The state governor, Ifeanyi Okowa made the pledge during the flag off ceremony of the Sub-national Immunization Plus Days held at Akwukwu-Igbo, Oshimili North Local Government Area of the state.

The governor represented by the commissioner for Trade and Investment, Choke Osai, noted that Nigeria has started the countdown to receiving her Polio-free certificate and explained that the Sub-National Immunization Plus Days, slated for four days (11 to 14) of January 2020, was set to strengthen the fight against Polio in Nigeria.

The governor also charged the various LGA chairmen, traditional rulers, Religious bodies and community- Based organizations to mobilise mothers and Caregivers to avail their children under age ” zero to 59″ months the opportunity to be immunized.

He commended other organizations for their collaborative efforts with the government to fight polio virus and other health related diseases.

Mordi Ononye, commissioner for health, stated that polio vaccine improves the health and immune system of children, helping them to develop mentally and physically.

He also admonished parents to use the available health centres for proper vaccination and other health related issues arising.

He also charged the Health personnel to be punctual, dutiful and to make judicious use of the health facilities for effective result.

While speaking, Louis Ndukwe, chairman Oshimili North Local Government Council, expressed delight for playing host to the Flag off of the Sub-National Immunization Plus Days ceremony, pointing out that “Provision of health care is one of the cardinal duties of any reasonable and responsible government of which Delta state government is one.