Osifo elected as new PENGASSAN president


By Gladys Nweke

Comrade Festus Osifo of Total E&P Nigeria Limited on Friday emerged as the 16th President of the Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PENGASSAN).

Osifo who defeated his competitor, Comrade Roland Frederick of Shell Petroleum, by 200 to 183 votes, as a total of 384 delegates drawn from the association’s branches nationwide participated in the 6th Triennial National Delegates Conference at the NAF Conference Centre, Abuja.

Duru Mathew and Victor Ononokpono  were elected Deputy and National Treasurer respectively. Other elected Council Working Committee members include Ngozi Chiwendu, Women in PENGASSAN; Aniete Udo, National PRO elected unopposed; Charles Ogbowu, National Auditor, Kabiru Dan Azumi, Financial Secretary, Kelechi Ugwulo of NALCO, National Industrial Relations Officer; and Bosun Olaniyi, National Auditor 2.

The new officers were sworn in by the General Secretary of PENGASSAN, Comrade Lumumba Okugbawa.

Osifo,  in his acceptance speech, promised to abide by the Association’s constitution in all his dealings and to return powers to the branches, while fighting for the protection of members’ jobs and welfare.

He thanked the delegates for electing men and women of character, who he promised, will not disappoint the confidence reposed in them.